Customer Reviews for Alcatraz with 2 Day Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Get your tickets for Alcatraz with 2 Day Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Average 4.5 out of 5 ( 137 customer reviews )

  • 5 stars: 105 reviews
  • 4 stars: 16 reviews
  • 3 stars: 3 reviews
  • 2 stars: 7 reviews
  • 1 stars: 6 reviews

Fantastic ticket combo! We did have to email the Alcatraz tour company the week before our visit to get a confirmed ferry time but I set a reminder on my phone to do this and we were able to have a lab early morning ferry which suited us brilliantly. The hop on hop off bus was fantastic! We even got free tickets to the USS Pampanito submarine experience and a free night bus tour included, which was a lovely surprise!

5 stars:

Louise Schwartz reviewed 01 May, 2022

Great tickets and cheaper than others

5 stars:

Angela Busby reviewed 13 Nov, 2019

Really enjoyed Alcatraz, the buses were great. Highly recommend the night tour as you have commentary from an individual rather than the headphone commentary you get through the day.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 12 Nov, 2019

Perfect purchase - exactly what I wanted to do.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 22 Oct, 2019

Was worth the money hop on off was great for getting around

4 stars:

Trevor Liversidge reviewed 12 Oct, 2019

Great tour, guides were brilliant and sites were spectacular

5 stars:

Natalie Gillingwater reviewed 28 Sep, 2019

Did not receive these tickets. 3 months after paying attraction tickets for them, I was told they couldn’t get the tickets for the day I wanted. I accepted another day and thought that was the end of it. Then shocked to find out a further 3 months later they didn’t book the child ticket and had to cancel my order. Very disappointed.

1 stars:

Lee Nicholson reviewed 23 Aug, 2019

Buying the tickets - no issues at all. This review is really about the Bus Hopper Company itself.. Lots of queuing & waiting - even from the main pickup point.. & especially when you’re looking at 3 buses parked up wondering when they’re going to use them! Wouldn’t pay extra for the extras also - Madam Tussaud’s - was ok, Night Bus over to Trasure Island was a windy & cold experience with nothing really at the end of it.. Alcatraz was the main event - but didn’t the Hopper for that..!

3 stars:

Steven Overton reviewed 17 Aug, 2019

We were in San Francisco for 4 days and did the loop on the first day. It was a great way of getting to understand the layout and geography of this beautiful city and helped us plan the best way to spend the rest of our visit. Alcatraz lived up to its own hype and history, what a desperate place and you can understand why it was chosen as a site for which it became famous. An absolute must visit.

5 stars:

Richard Leeming reviewed 08 Jul, 2019

Brought tickets didn’t have to wait in the queue

5 stars:

David Gamble reviewed 24 Jan, 2019

Good value for money and buses good way get around

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 17 Sep, 2018

Great trips friendly staff

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 13 Aug, 2018

Great value for money covered everything we wanted to see. Did night tour as part of trip, wrap up warm and take coats for this trip it gets cold on the top deck!

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 11 Aug, 2018

Booked my Alcatraz tour on the wrong day - Although I booked 6 months in advance. Bus tour was very average compared to others I have done in other US cities with other providers

2 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 20 Apr, 2018

It was an amazing experience

5 stars:

Maria Walsh reviewed 29 Oct, 2017

Very good service,as always

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 27 Sep, 2017

Best way to get round the city, so much to see and do. Tour guides were great and very informative. Needed the 3 days to fit everything in.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 15 Sep, 2017

Alcatraz was amazing unfortunately the bus not so. On two days we could not get on the bus after waiting for half an hour for it and had to wait for ages for another to arrive. This meant half our time waiting in lines for buses, that could have been used for sightseeing. Also we thought they stopped running too early.

4 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 11 Sep, 2017

Alcatraz trip was great, well organised and interesting but the bus tour was poor. not enough buses for the number of customers, only one bus per hour and long queues. Thought you were on a circular route but everything stopped at the Cannery and you had to queue again does not represent good value for money

2 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 22 Aug, 2017

Such a great day! This is a must for anyone visiting San Francisco!

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 19 Aug, 2017

Really good, meant we got to see all of the best attractions in San Francisco and the Alcatraz tour was great.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 06 Jul, 2017

A must to do when in San Francisco

5 stars:

Alan Runnalls reviewed 22 Apr, 2017

Alcatraz is something my husband has always wanted to do and he wasn't disappointed we used the audio headset to go around it was very interesting place. The double decker tour is a good way to get around San Francisco and we got off at the Golden Gate Bridge that's a must.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 20 Apr, 2017

Alcatraz was amazing although somewhat eerie and depressing but the audio tour was brilliant. The hop of hop off double decker bus tours gave us the freedom to see everything and the commentary was very informative. At all the stops the staff were very friendly and helping us in making the make of this wonderful city. The buses run very regularly and there are 3 different routes to explore. We thoroughly recommend sit.

5 stars:

Alison Tucker reviewed 18 Apr, 2017

Alcatraz trip was not available as overbooked despite having booked our tickets 8 months before travelling, however a refund was provided. All Loops Double decker tour was great however.

2 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 20 Nov, 2016

Great tour of Alcatraz and 3 days open bus tour, all went as planned and we thoroughly enjoyed both. Highly recommend doing both if visiting San Francisco.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 28 Oct, 2016

The actual Alcatraz trip was excellent but we had an issue with the bus tour: The weather was really bad one of the days and we had to sit downstairs on the blue line tour. The Windows have been covered in advertising and we were looking through mesh on the Windows and could see virtually nothing. I have photos if you would like to see the issue please feel free to contact me

2 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 22 Oct, 2016

No problem using our voucher and enjoyed both excursions

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 21 Oct, 2016

Loved the visit to Alcatraz very interesting got a lot of history. Worth visiting. The tour bus was good takes you to all the interesting places but you need to get wrapped up very cold. Do not have any hot weather in San Francisco did not realise this before we went.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 17 Oct, 2016

excellent Tours

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 14 Oct, 2016

Alcratraz is a must visit in San Francisco. Getting the tickets was no problem, just had to exchange the voucher for tickets in the booking office. Bus tour was great and provided us with a wealth of knowledge on San Francisco and was a great way to get around the City.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 03 Oct, 2016

Alcatraz is not to be missed. Once you get to the island, you can take the tour at your own pace. Great Time in prison !!

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 03 Oct, 2016

Absolutely loved it. Really good value for money. The double decker tour as an extra is a massive saving.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 27 Sep, 2016

Alcatraz excellent, no trip to S.F. is complete without this. All loops tour is a great way to get about and most of the tour guides are well informed, don't miss the night tour.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 26 Sep, 2016

Great trips, everything went well

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 24 Sep, 2016

Fabulous day at Alcatraz

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 24 Sep, 2016

The tour buses never turned up on time and we're always full. We ended up using another bus company. I have tried to get a refund after.1- not giving me the right tickets.2- rude staff who told you wrong imfomation. 3- office staff shouting at each other. 4- being told the tickets that state all loop inculed didn't include everything. This company is a joke everyone was complaining to be told it's first come first served more like you need more buses on the tour routes not just 1

1 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 24 Sep, 2016

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 08 Sep, 2016

The tour company in San Francisco City sightseeing did not have the alcatraz tickets we had ordered more than six months previously and were rude and unhelpful leaving a very disapointed family

1 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 28 Aug, 2016

1 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 14 Aug, 2016

this was cancelled the day before leaving us all very disapointed

1 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 08 Aug, 2016

You need this if you want to book Alcatraz

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 18 Jul, 2016

excellent bus tour and trip to Alcatraz island

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 06 Jul, 2016

Great excursion and excellent guide. Thoroughly enjoyable

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 04 Jul, 2016

Great value, fantastic trips

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 27 Jun, 2016

Great experience visiting Alcatraz, all set out for you and an easy audio to following

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 26 Jun, 2016

As described and easy exchange voucher for tickets

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 25 Apr, 2016

We were so glad we booked there ahead of our visit. On the day we had the trip, it was a two week wait for people who turned up thinking they could just get on a boat that day. Very glad I researched Alcatraz. You receive vouchers which you have to redeem on the day of your visit at the City Sightseeing Office which is on Columbus Circle (full address comes with your voucher). We were staying off Market Street near Tenderloin so took a cab to their offices early on that morning (offices open at 9 am). Cab cost $12 and worth it as it was our first day in SF and we hadn't got our bearings yet. Anyway, small queue at ticket office, then they swapped our tickets for hop on passes and booked Alcatraz for 1.30 that afternoon. The Golden Gate Bridge and Sausalito bus tour was leaving shortly, so we decided to go on that and we had a wonderful trip. Paul, our tour bus rep, was so friendly and funny, and we couldn't have had a better intro to SF. We also highly recommend the Parks and Beaches tour, where we got off at Golden Gate Park, spent most of the day there, then caught the bus again and had the rest of the tour - amazing! Would definitely recommend this trip.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 16 Apr, 2016

Really good value, Alcatraz was amazing

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 30 Mar, 2016

Exchanged the voucher for the bus ticket and booked the Alcatraz tour the same time, got to the departure point to board the boat and was even allowed on early.

5 stars:

Trusted Customer reviewed 23 Dec, 2015